Sub-Saharan Africa Hub

Hub Principal Investigator

Dr Max Parkin

Honorary Senior Research Fellow, Oxford University Senior Visiting Scientist, Lyon, IARC

IARC Hub liaison

Dr Freddie Bray

Hub officer, International Agency for Research on Cancer, Lyon, France

Click on the legend below

In collaboration with the International Network for Cancer Treatment and Research (INCTR) and based in Oxford (United Kingdom), a virtual Hub was established in 2012. By an agreement, the African Cancer Registry Network (AFCRN) acts as a consortium to provide Hub activities in Sub-Saharan Africa.


The Hub covers 48 countries in the four regions of sub-Saharan Africa: East Africa (Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe); Middle Africa (Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, and Gabon); Southern Africa (Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, and South Africa); and West Africa (Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo).

Although all registries in countries within the region are eligible for AFCRN membership, the registry must be population-based, achieve at least 50% coverage of the target population, and be invited to join after an evaluation visit by a consultant.

Bourama Coulibaly

Registre de Cancer de Bamako, Mali

Cecile Ingabire

AFRCN Childhood Cancer Registry Project, Rwanda

Elvira Singh

National Health Laboratory Service, National Cancer Registry, South Africa

Eric Chokunonga

National Cancer Registry Zimbabwe

Franck Gnahatin

Registre du Cancer d'Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire

Fred Kwame Awittor

Kumasi Cancer Registry, Ghana

Gauthier Tougri

Ministère de la Santé, Cabinet du Ministre Chef de l'Unité de gestion et de transfer des connaissances (UGTC), Burkina Faso

Gladys Chesumbai

Moi University, Kenya

Xolisile Dlamini

Ministry of Health Eswatini

Long-standing high-quality registries in the region are located in Uganda (Kampala) and Zimbabwe (Harare). The Malawi (Blantyre) and the South African registries were accepted in IARC's Cancer Incidence in Five Continents Volume X. The registry in South Africa (the PROMEC registry) covers the rural population of 1.3 million in the former Transkei region of the Eastern Cape Province.

The countries where population-based cancer registries are developing and producing data include highly populated Nigeria in the North; Kenya, Ethiopia, and United Republic of Tanzania in the East; and The Gambia and Guinea in the West. Efforts are under way to start an expansion in Mozambique and South Africa.

There are a considerable number of registry developments under way within the 30 current AFCRN members across 19 countries, although there remain about 18 countries in the region where there are no data available or the status of registration is presently unknown.

Benin – Cotonou Cancer Registry
Botswana National Cancer Registry
Congo – Registre des cancers de Brazzaville
Cote d’Ivoire – Registre des Cancers d’Abidjan
Ethiopia – Addis Ababa City Cancer Registry
Gambia Cancer Registry
Ghana – Kumasi Cancer Registry
Guinea – Registre de Cancer de Guinée
Kenya – Eldoret Cancer Registry
Kenya – Nairobi Cancer Registry
Malawi Cancer Registry
Mali – Registre des cancers du Mali
Mauritius National Cancer Registry
Mozambique – Maputo Cancer Registry
Mozambique – Registro de Cancro de Beira
Namibian Cancer Registry
Niger – Registre des Cancers du Niger
Nigeria – Abuja Cancer Registry
Nigeria – Calabar Cancer Registry
Nigeria – Ibadan Cancer Registry
Nigerian National System of Cancer Registries
Reunion – Registre des cancers de la Réunion
Seychelles National Cancer Registry
South Africa Eastern Cape Province Cancer Registry
South Africa National Cancer Registry (NCR-SA)
Swaziland National Cancer Registry
Uganda – Gulu Cancer Registry
Uganda – Kampala Cancer Registry
Zambia National Cancer Registry
Zimbabwe National Cancer Registry (Harare & Bulawayo)